What are the zones of prostate?

What are the zones of prostate?

The prostate is divided into four regions, the central zone (CZ), transition zone (TZ), peripheral zone (PZ), and anterior fibromuscular stroma (Figure 1), and is composed of an apex, a base, and anterior, posterior, and inferior-lateral surfaces.

What are the 3 zones of the prostate?

Background: The prostate contains three glandular zones (central, peripheral, transition) with widely differing susceptibilities to cancer and benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH).

What zone is prostate cancer?

Background: Prostate cancer arises in the transition zone (TZ) in approximately 20-25% of cases. Modern biopsy and surveillance protocols, and advances in prostate cancer imaging, have renewed interest in TZ prostate cancers.

What is the prostate transition zone?

The transition zone is a balloon-shaped component of the prostate that is located in the periurethral region. Most prostatic adenocarcinomas develop in the peripheral zone, although some arise in the transition zone. The transition zone is the exclusive site of benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH).

What is peripheral zone of prostate?

The peripheral zone (PZ) contains the majority of prostatic glandular tissue. The largest area of the peripheral zone is at the back of the gland, closest to the rectal wall. When a doctor performs a digital rectal exam (DRE) it is the back surface of the gland he is feeling.

Where is prostate Left or right?

Side View of the Prostate The prostate is a walnut-sized gland located between the bladder and the penis. The prostate is just in front of the rectum. The urethra runs through the center of the prostate, from the bladder to the penis, letting urine flow out of the body.

Is there a left and right prostate?

The prostate is divided into several lobes: the anterior lobe, the median lobe, the lateral lobes (left and right lobes), and the posterior lobe.