What are the STCW onboard requirements?

What are the STCW onboard requirements?

According to STCW Convention, ratings must meet minimum standards of medical fitness, minimum age (if designated with watchkeeping duties), competence (if designated with watchkeeping duties), and seagoing service time (if designated with watch- keeping duties).

What are the levels of a cruise ship called?

Although these are formally called decks, they are usually referred to as levels, because they are usually incomplete decks that do not extend all the way from the stem to the stern or across the ship. Afterdeck an open deck area toward the stern-aft.

What are the 3 stateroom space in cruise ship describe it?

Cabin Type Cruise ships typically offer three types of staterooms. These include oceanview rooms, inside rooms and suites. Although you can expect to find the basics such as a bed, bathroom, closet, phone and TV, each type of cabin brings a different experience worth considering.

What is STCW guide for seafarers?

Under the STCW Convention, all seafarers need to meet minimum standards of competence, age, medical fitness, and approved sea-going service. These standards are set by each national administration, but as a minimum, they should reflect STCW standards.

What is bow in cruise?

The bow (/baʊ/) is the forward part of the hull of a ship or boat, the point that is usually most forward when the vessel is underway. The aft end of the boat is the stern.

What are the different types of stateroom?

There are four basic stateroom types (and of course, some outliers).

  • Inside Staterooms.
  • Ocean View Staterooms.
  • Verandah Staterooms.
  • Suites.
  • Location.
  • Views.
  • Size & Shape.
  • Window or Verandah Type.

What is stateroom cruise?

A stateroom is the nautical term for a cabin on a ship. Staterooms come in four different types: interior, ocean view (or exterior), balcony and suite. Best Rooms on a Cruise Ship.

What is the meaning of STCW course?

International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers (STCW), 1978 sets minimum qualification standards for masters, officers and watch personnel on seagoing merchant ships and large yachts.

What are the five titles of MLC?

The Maritime Labour Convention (MLC) is divided into 5 main titles which are:

  • Minimum Requirements for seafarers to work on ships.
  • Conditions of Employment.
  • Accommodation, Recreation, Food and Catering.
  • Health Protection, Medical Care, Welfare and Social Security Protection.
  • Compliance and Enforcement.